Math 105, Spring 2018, Sections 204/208

The main website for all sections of Math 105 is here.

If you need to get ahold of me, the best way is through email: elyse@math.ubc.ca.
My office is in the Mathematics Building (behind the Koerner library), room 229F.

Office Hours

Office Hours
Wednesdays, 1 - 3: 229F Math Building
Wednesdays, 10-11: 1118 Math Annex with our TA, Adam
Thursdays, 3:30 - 5: 229F Math Building
I teach right before, so I might be a few minutes late--hang in there!

Finals week:
Office hours Tuesday April 10, 11-2, 229F MATH
MLC Review for Math 105 Wednesday April 11, 2-4pm in the MLC
MLC Review for Math 105 Thursday April 12, 4-6pm in the MLC

Office hours will not be held on holidays or over break. They start on the second week of classes.

To sign up for our Piazza section, click here. The access code is "rosegarden" (without the quotes).

Quizzes

Quizzes will be held Tuesdays and Wednesdays (depending on your section) at the end of class. They will not be held on weeks with midterms. The first quiz will be Tuesday the 16th / Wednesday the 17th of January.

Your quiz grades will make up 6% of your final grade. This portion of your grade is capped at 100%, so students who earn more than 100% on quizzes (due to bonus marks and generally being awesome) will have their grades rounded down to a measly perfect score. However, earning more than 100% on one quiz WILL spill over to other quizzes.

If you would like your quiz to be regraded, please email me a note that includes what the grading mistake is (not just which question you would like regraded--please refer to the marking scheme) no later than one week after quizzes have been made available on Crowdmark. Regraded quizzes may end up with lower scores.

The quiz will have a bonus option, meant to encourage you to think critically about your own understanding, and to reward you for the ability to evaluate your solution without resorting to "the back of the book." You do not have to answer this question--you can still earn 100% on the quiz without it. Additionally, since the quiz time is short, you can earn full marks only answering one of the two questions.

The questions on the quiz might not look like questions you've seen before. You should have to think a little about how to apply concepts in new ways. This is a skill itself: problem-solving. The way to get good at it is to practice it. So, if you come across a suggested problem or webwork question that you don't immediately know how to solve, practice ways of getting out of that situation that don't involve looking up a solution. You should try to get comfortable with looking at a problem that you don't initially know how to solve, then mustering your resources to find a path through the fog.

The quiz will take place around the last 10-20 minutes of class. Quiz conduct (aside from the standard expectations) here.

Material is assumed to be cumulative.

Section 208 (Tues/Thurs)
Date Material Files
Tuesday January 16 Up to and including Ch 12.4, Partial Derivatives Quiz, V1Solutions, V2Solutions
Tuesday January 23 Up to and including Ch 12.8 Quiz, V1Solutions, V2Solutions
Tuesday January 30 Ch 12.9 (Lagrange) and Ch 5.1 (no sigma notation) Quiz, V1Solutions, V2Solutions
Tuesday February 13 Weeks 4-5 Quiz, Solutions
Tuesday February 27 Integration by Parts and Integration of Trigonometric Integrals Quiz, Solutions
Tuesday March 6 Trigonometric Substitution, Method of Partial Fractions Quiz, V1Solutions, V2Solutions
Tuesday March 13 Week 8 Quiz, V1Solutions, V2Solutions
Tuesday March 27 Probability Quiz, V1Solutions, V2Solutions
Tuesday April 3 8.1-8.5 Quiz, V1Solutions, V2Solutions
   
Section 204 (Mon/Wed/Fri)
Date Material Files
Wed, January 17 Up to and including 12.8 (but not absolute max/min or second derivative test) Quiz, V1Solutions, V2Solutions
Wed, January 24 Up to and including Ch 12.8 Quiz, V1Solutions, V2Solutions
Wed, January 31 12.9 and 5.1 Quiz, V1Solutions, V2Solutions
Wed, February 14 Weeks 4-5 Quiz, Solutions
Wed, February 28 Integration by Parts and integration of products of powers of sine and cosine (that is, Ch 7.2 and the first part of Ch 7.3) Quiz, Solutions
Wed, March 7 Trigonometric Substitution, Method of Partial Fractions Quiz, V1Solutions, V2Solutions
Wed, March 14 Week 8 Quiz, V1Solutions, V2Solutions
Wed, March 28 Probability Quiz, V1Solutions, V2Solutions
Wed, April 4 8.1-8.5 Quiz, V1Solutions, V2Solutions

Lecture Notes and Other Materials

Week Sections Topics Doc Cam Notes Learning Objectives External Resources
1 11.1-11.3
12.1-12.2
Introduction; Vectors; Planes; Level Curves Section 204

Wed, Jan 3
Fri, Jan 5
Mon, Jan 8

Section 208

Thu, Jan 4
Tue, Jan 9

Week 1 Goals

3D Graphing: Geogebra

YouTube:

Online Notes:
2 12.4, 12.8 Partial derivatives; local max/min problems Section 204

Wed, Jan 10
Fri, Jan 12
Mon, Jan 15

Section 208

Thu, Jan 11
Tue, Jan 16

Week 2 Goals YouTube: Notes:
3 12.8-12.9 Absolute max/min problems; method of Lagrange multipliers Section 204

Wed, Jan 17
Fri, Jan 19
Mon, Jan 22
Wed, Jan 24

Section 208

Thu, Jan 18
Tue, Jan 23

Week 3 Goals Worksheet: Finding extrema

YouTube:

4 5.1-5.2 Approximating areas under curves; definite integrals

Section 204

Fri, Jan 26
Mon, Jan 29
Wed, Jan 31

Section 208

Thu, Jan 25
Tue, Jan 30

Week 4 Goals Graphing Riemann Sums on Desmos
Animations explaining Riemann sums: Visual Calculus

YouTube:

5 4.8
5.3, 5.5
Fundamental Theorem of Calculus; antidifferentiation;
substitution rule

Section 204

Fri, Feb 02
Mon, Feb 05
Wed, Feb 07

Section 208

Thu, Feb 01
Tue, Feb 06

Week 5 Goals Solutions to 4.8

Paul's Notes: substitution
UC Davis: substitution

YouTube:

6 7.2 Integration by parts Section 204

Fri, Feb 09
Wed, Feb 14

Section 208

Thu, Feb 08
Tue, Feb 13

Week 6 Goals YouTube:
7 7.3-7.5 Integration of products of powers of trig functions;
trigonometric substitution; the method of partial fractions
Section 204

Fri, Feb 16
Mon, Feb 26
Wed, Feb 28

Section 208

Thu, Feb 15
Tue, Feb 27
Thu, Mar 1

Week 7 Goals

Worksheet for choosing methods of integration (when it's easy)
Worksheet for choosing methods of integration (when it's tougher)

YouTube:

8 7.7-7.9 Numerical integration (Midpoint Rule, Trapezoid Rule, and Simpson's Rule);
improper integrals; introduction to differential equations
Section 204

Fri, Mar 02
Mon, Mar 05
Wed, Mar 07
Fri, Mar 09

Section 208

Tue, Mar 06
Thu, Mar 08

Week 8 Goals YouTube: Kompressor: Differentialgleichungen
9 2.1-2.2
2.5-2.6
Continuous random variables; expected value; variance; standard deviation Section 204

Mon, Mar 12
Wed, Mar 14
Fri, Mar 16

Section 208

Tue, Mar 13
Thu, Mar 15

Week 9 Goals Solutions from Probability Appendix

YouTube:
Calculating a Cumulative Distribution Function
Finding a CDF from a PDF

10 8.1-8.4 Infinite sequences; infinite series;
divergence and integral tests
Section 204

Mon, Mar 19
Wed, Mar 21
Fri, Mar 23

Section 208

Tue, Mar 20
Thu, Mar 22

Week 10 Goals Visualising geometric series with stacking heads (Geogebra)
Converting repeating decimals to fractions using geometric series Khan Academy
11 8.5
9.1-9.2
Ratio test; comparison tests;
approximating functions with polynomials (Taylor); properties of power series
Section 204

Mon, Mar 26
Wed, Mar 28
Wed, Apr 04

Section 208

Tue, Mar 27
Thu, Mar 29
Tue, Apr 03
Thu, Apr 05

Week 11 Goals Worksheet: series convergence tests

YouTube:

12 9.3-9.4 Taylor series; using Taylor series Week 12 Goals

Midterms

For information about midterms, please refer to the main course webpage.

A number of old sample midterms are floating about on the internet. Here are some, offered as I found them. I make no claims that your midterms will be similar. Also, there are some typos in the solutions.

Midterm 1 Midterm 2

Resources

Lots of people find calculus challenging, and lots of people find their first few years in university challenging. If you find yourself struggling, I hope you'll take advantage of some of the resources available to you on campus.

Help with Registration

If you have problems registering in a math course, please find the appropriate math advisor.

If you have questions related to your major, like which flavour of calculus you should be taking, OR if you have a major life event that might prevent you from completing the semester, you should talk to your faculty advisor.

Help with Course Content

It's good for your brain to work hard! But if you find yourself feeling overwhelmed, please do take advantage of some of these marvellous resources available to you.

Help with Other Issues

Student Services at UBC has a variety of programs to help you stay happy and healthy. A good place to start is here: LiveWell

UBC provides services to address, among other things: illness and injury, mental health and wellbeing, sexual assault (for people of all genders), other violence, discrimination and harrassment, diversity, disability, and ongoing medical considerations. If you have legal issues, you might be able to get help from the Law Students' Legal Advice Program. The Office of Equity and Inclusion is a good place to go if you want more information about maintaining an environment that is respectful, especially with regards to interculturality, LGBT*QIA status, race, students who are parents, etc. The Office of Access and Diversity provides disability support.

If something comes up during the semester that interferes with your academic progress (such as an illness, or caring for a loved one) contact your faculty advising office as soon as possible. You can find them here.

The province has an excellent website with information on mental health, including an online screening tool and resources: Here To Help. The Vancouver Access & Assessment Centre (AAC) is a point of entry for concerns about mental health and substance abuse, and they also have a call line if you just want to talk to someone. Education is a tool for a better life, from increased earning potential to a heightened appreciation for the beauty and complexity in the world. Your real life extends far beyond the boundaries of this campus. It's important that you don't let your education interfere with your physical or emotional health.

Addressing Issues with the Course

If there's something about this course that bothers you, I'd like the chance to address it. You can contact me in person after class or during office hours, or write me an email. If you are uncomfortable discussing it with me, you can talk to the Instructor in Charge, Professor Keqin Liu: kliu@math.ubc.ca.

If it isn't feasible to change the thing that's bothering you, we still might be able to come up with strategies for addressing it. At the very least, you can get an explanation of why things are the way they are.

See you in class!