Mathematics Department

Welcome to the home page of the Department of Mathematics at the University of British Columbia. We invite you to take some time to explore our pages and get a sense of who we are and what we do.

We are located in beautiful and friendly Vancouver, British Columbia. We take pride in accomplishments of our faculty, postdocs and students. We offer a lively program of courses for undergraduates and graduate students, seminars, workshops, social activities and individual contact with faculty that encourages the study of mathematics on all levels. Our faculty are involved in a broad variety of research activities associated with many institutes such as PIMS, the Institute of Applied Mathematics, MITACS and BIRS.

Please feel free to contact us if you would like any further information.




  • Apr 24, 2015: Myrto Mavraki has been selected to receive UBC's Master's Governor General's Gold Medal, the prize given to the Master's graduate who achieved the most outstanding academic record in their graduating year. Details on our awards page.
  • Apr 17, 2015: Cindy Blois has received a 2014/2015 Killam Graduate Teaching Assistant Award. Details on our awards page.
  • Apr 13, 2015: Alejandro Adem and Dong Li have been announced as this year's winners of the Canadian Mathematical Society's major research prizes. the Jeffery-Williams Prize (for a senior researcher) and the Coxeter-James prize (for a junior researcher), respectively. Details on our awards page.
  • Mar 30, 2015: Fred Brauer and Rachel Kuske have been elected 2015 SIAM Fellows.
  • Mar 13, 2015: Hildur Knutsdottir has won the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation fellowship.
    See http://www.cbcf.org/bc/ApplyForGrants/Pages/default.aspx for more details.
  • Feb 04, 2015: Malabika Pramanik has been named the winner of the 2015-2016 Ruth I. Michler Memorial Prize. Details on our awards page.
  • Feb 04, 2015: Joel Feldman is the 2014 recipient of UBC's premier award for research, the Jacob Biely Research Prize.
  • Dec 01, 2014: Kai Behrend has won the 2015 CRM-Fields-PIMS prize. This is the top award for a research mathematician in Canada. Details on our awards page.
  • Oct 31, 2014: Michael Lindstrom (Applied Mathematics) and Vasu Tewari (Pure Mathematics) are the winners of the 2014 Graduate Research Awards. Details on our awards page.
  • Jun 10, 2014: The Math/Educational Resources (MER) wiki has been awarded a Flexible Learning Teaching and Learning Enhancement Fund (FL-TLEF). The MER wiki is a graduate student initiative that provides free online resources, hints and solutions to math problems for undergraduates at UBC. FL-TLEF grants are awarded to projects that "enrich student learning through innovative educational enhancements" and "propose an innovative implementation or piloting of digital technology". The MER team uses this grant to study the effectiveness of the wiki with respect to student learning and understanding of mathematical concepts.
  • Jun 05, 2014: Sabin Cautis was the recipient of the 2014 Andre Aisenstadt Prize. Details on our awards page.
  • Older news items can be viewed in our News Archive.