Mathematics Department

Welcome to the home page of the Department of Mathematics at the University of British Columbia. We invite you to take some time to explore our pages and get a sense of who we are and what we do.

We are located in beautiful and friendly Vancouver, British Columbia. We take pride in accomplishments of our faculty, postdocs and students. We offer a lively program of courses for undergraduates and graduate students, seminars, workshops, social activities and individual contact with faculty that encourages the study of mathematics on all levels. Our faculty are involved in a broad variety of research activities associated with many institutes such as PIMS, the Institute of Applied Mathematics, MITACS and BIRS.

Please feel free to contact us if you would like any further information.




  • Feb 3, 2017: In light of the recent US travel and immigration ban affecting citizens of several countries, the Department of Mathematics will consider late applications from prospective graduate students who have been affected by the ban. Such prospective students should contact the Department at gradchair(at)math.ubc.ca with their details, including the circumstances of how they have been affected. We will consider extending the admission deadline for such applicants.
  • Mar 07, 2017: Stephanie Van Willigenburg has been named the recipient of the 2017 CMS Krieger-Nelson Prize for her exceptional contributions to mathematical research. Details on our awards page.
  • Feb 02, 2017: Dragos Ghioca, Christoph Hauert and Dong Li were the recipients of UBC's 2016 Faculty Research Awards. Details on our awards page.
  • Jan 27, 2017: Congratulations to Julia Gordon for winning the 2017-2018 Michler Prize, co-sponsored by the Associaton for Women in Mathematics and Cornell University. Details on our awards page.
  • Nov 11, 2016: Jim Bryan has been named in the 2017 class of Fellows of the American Mathematical Society. Details on our awards page.
  • Nov 03, 2016: The winners of the Mathematics Department's Graduate Research Awards for 2016 have now been named:
    • Rob Fraser and John Ma, joint winners for Pure Mathematics
    • Alejandra Herrera, winner for Applied mathematics
    Details on our awards page.
  • July 8, 2016: Omer Angel has been awarded the Rollo Davidson Prize from the Statistical Laboratory at the University of Cambridge. Details on our awards page.
  • May 30, 2016: Caroline Lemieux, in Honours Mathematics and Computing, wins Governor General's Silver Medal as head of the graduating class in Science. awards page.
  • Apr 29, 2016: Leah Edelstein-Keshet is the winner of the CAIMS Research Prize for 2016. Details on our awards page.
  • Apr 08, 2016: Matthew Coles and Vanessa Radzimski are the winners of 2015/2016 Killam Prizes for outstanding work as a Graduate Teaching Assistant in Science. Details on our awards page.
  • Apr 08, 2016: Colin Macdonald and Anthony Wachs have been awarded NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplements. Details on our awards page.
  • Mar 08, 2016: Malabika Pramanik was the recipient of the 2016 CMS Krieger-Nelson prize for her outstanding research contributions. Details on our awards page.
  • Older news items can be viewed in our News Archive.