Mathematics Department

Welcome to the home page of the Department of Mathematics at the University of British Columbia. We invite you to take some time to explore our pages and get a sense of who we are and what we do.

We are located in beautiful and friendly Vancouver, British Columbia. We take pride in accomplishments of our faculty, postdocs and students. We offer a lively program of courses for undergraduates and graduate students, seminars, workshops, social activities and individual contact with faculty that encourages the study of mathematics on all levels. Our faculty are involved in a broad variety of research activities associated with many institutes such as PIMS, the Institute of Applied Mathematics, MITACS and BIRS.

Please feel free to contact us if you would like any further information.




  • May 31, 2018: Hong Zhe Chen, in Combined Honours Physics and Mathematics, has been awarded a Governor General's Silver Medal as head of the graduating class in Science. Details on our awards page.
  • May 14, 2018: Tom Hutchcroft has won the 2018 Canadian Mathematical Society Doctoral Prize! The Doctoral Prize recognizes outstanding performance by a doctoral student. Tom will receive his award and present a prize lecture during the CMS Winter Meeting here in Vancouver, December 7-10, 2018. Details on our awards page.
  • May 07, 2018: Tom Hutchcroft has been awarded a Governor General's Gold Medal. This recognizes Tom as the UBC doctoral graduate with the most outstanding academic record. Dr Hutchcroft made a strong impression during his time here, with a paper in the Inventiones in 2016, two productive summers as an intern at Microsoft Research, and the Math Department's Graduate Research Prize in 2015. Details on our awards page.
  • May 02, 2018: Shirin Boroushaki is the winner of 2017/2018 Killam Graduate Teaching Assistant Award. Details on our awards page.
  • Apr 04, 2018: Ben Williams has won the 2017 UBC Mathematics and Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences Faculty Award. Details on our awards page.
  • Feb 23, 2018: Gordon Slade (FRSC, FRS) is the winner the CMS Jeffery-Williams Prize for 2018!
    The Prize is awarded by the Canadian Mathematical Society to recognize mathematicians who have made outstanding contributions to mathematical research. Details on our awards page.
  • Jan 31, 2018: Malabika Pramanik won a Killam Faculty Research Prize, in recognition of her outstanding research and scholarly contributions. Details on our awards page.
  • Jan 10, 2018: Sven Bachmann is the winner of the Annales Henri Poincaré (AHP) prize. Details on our awards page.
  • Older news items can be viewed in our News Archive.