Mathematics Dept.
  Research Award

Graduate Research Awards in Mathematics

Every year the Department of Mathematics celebrates excellence by presenting Graduate Research Awards to deserving Doctoral students for research done while at UBC. At least three awards are given, with at least one female winner, at least one winner in applied mathematics, and at least one winner in pure mathematics, if suitable nominees exist.

Award: The award consists of an invitation to speak in the Department Colloquium, or equivalent venue; a certificate to be presented at the Department graduation reception; and a cheque.

Eligibility: All Ph. D. students in Mathematics who have passed the candidacy exam, and have not already won the award.

Nominations: A nomination is made by a research supervisor of the eligible student. A nomination will consist of a

  1. Description of Research Contribution (maximum 2 pages) written by the nominee;
  2. a CV;
  3. an unofficial UBC transcript of grades;
  4. two letters of reference including one from a research supervisor.

Deadline for nominations: October 15.

Announcement of award: November 1.

Past winners:

2020: Frederic Paquin-Lefebvre, Thomas Rud, Tongou Yang
2019: Rebeca Cardim Falcao, Daniel Gomez, Thomas Hughes, Chen Wang, Yifu Zhou
2018: Laurent Charette, Federico Scavia
2017: Oliver Leigh, Josh Scurll and Cole Zmurchok (joint winners)
2016: Alejandra Herrera, Robert Fraser and John Ma (joint winners)
2015: Stilianos Louca, Tom Hutchcroft
2014: Michael Lindstrom, Vasu Tewari