Math 105, WT2 2017, Sections 204/208

The main website for all sections of Math 105 is here.

If you need to get ahold of me, the best way is through email: elyse@math.ubc.ca.
My office is in the Mathematics Building (behind the Koerner library), room 229F.

Office Hours

Normal office hours stop on the last day of classes. My office hours for the final will be:
Thursday April 20, 12-3
Friday April 21, 12-3

Mondays, 1:10-3:00 pm
Wednesday, 1:10-3:00 pm
Office hours will be in my office, Room 229F in the Mathematics Building.
I teach until 1 o'clock, so if I'm a few minutes late, hang around--I'm on my way!

If you'd like to join our section of Piazza, click here.
I set this course up after student request; I cannot guarantee that I will moderate, so please be friendly and kind, and discuss with each other.

Quizzes

Every other week, we will have a quiz during the last 20 minutes of class. The problems on the quiz will be taken from the suggested homework problems from your book.

Unless otherwise mentioned, you need to show your work on each problem for full marks. We want you to demonstrate to us what you understand.

Your quiz grades will make up 6% of your final grade. This portion of your grade is capped at 100%, so students who earn more than 100% on quizzes (due to bonus marks and generally being awesome) will have their grades rounded down to a measly perfect score.

If you would like your quiz to be regraded, please do not alter your quiz itself, but write a note that includes what the grading mistake is (not just which question you would like regraded--please refer to the marking scheme that is published below) and attach it. Give it to me no later than one week after quizzes have been made available at the MLC. Regraded quizes may end up with lower scores.

Midterms

For information about midterms, please refer to the main course webpage.

A number of old sample midterms are floating about on the internet. Here are some, offered as I found them. I make no claims that your midterms will be similar.

Midterm 1 Midterm 2

Lecture Notes and Other Materials

Week Sections Topics Notes Learning Objectives,
Suggested Problems
External Resources
1 11.1-11.3
12.1-12.2
Introduction; Vectors; Planes; Level Curves Tuesday, Jan 3
Wednesday, Jan 4
Thursday, Jan 5
Friday, Jan 6
Monday, Jan 9
Week 1 Goals

Suggested problems:
11.1: # 9, 11, 15, 31, 33, 37, 41, 45
11.2: #7, 9, 43, 67, 69
11.3: #3, 49
12.1: #1, 3, 11, 13, 29, 31, 33
12.2: #1, 3, 7, 11, 15, 17, 19, 31, 33, 35, 37, 53, 65

YouTube: Online Notes:
2 12.4, 12.8 Partial derivatives; local max/min problems Tuesday, Jan 10
Wednesday, Jan 11
Thursday, Jan 12
Friday, Jan 13
Monday, Jan 16
Week 2 Goals

Suggested problems:
12.4: #1, 3, 5, 17, 21, 23, 25, 29, 33, 37, 41, 43, 61, 63
12.8: #13, 19, 21, 23, 25, 27, 35, 37, 39, 43, 45, 47, 51, 61

YouTube: Notes:
3 12.8-12.9 Absolute max/min problems; method of Lagrange multipliers Tuesday, Jan 17
Wednesday, Jan 18
Thursday, Jan 19
Friday, Jan 20
Monday, Jan 23
Week 3 Goals

Suggested problems:
12.9: #5, 11, 13, 27, 29, 35, 37, 47, 49, 53, 55

Worksheet: Finding extrema

YouTube:

4 5.1-5.2 Approximating areas under curves; definite integrals Tuesday, Jan 24
Wednesday, Jan 25
Thursday, Jan 26
Friday, Jan 27
Monday, Jan 30
Tuesday, Jan 31
Wednesday, Feb 1
Week 4 Goals

Suggested problems:
5.1: #5, 7, 21, 23, 27, 31, 33, 35, 39, 41, 55, 57, 59, 61, 63
5.2: #3, 5, 9, 21, 23, 27, 31, 33, 35, 37, 39, 41, 43, 45, 47, 51, 69, 71

Graphing Riemann Sums on Desmos
Animations explaining Riemann sums: Visual Calculus

YouTube:

5 4.8
5.3, 5.5
Fundamental Theorem of Calculus; antidifferentition;
substitution rule
Thursday, Feb 2
Friday, Feb 3
Monday, Feb 6
Tuesday, Feb 7
Wednesday, Feb 8
Week 5 Goals

Suggested problems:
4.8: # 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 21, 25, 27, 29, 39, 41
5.3: #5, 9, 11, 17, 19, 21, 23, 25, 37, 39, 45, 61, 63, 65, 67, 69, 75, 85, 99, 101
5.5: # 3, 5, 11, 13, 15, 19, 23, 29, 33, 35, 39, 41, 43, 53, 57, 61, 63, 67, 73

Solutions to 4.8

Paul's Notes: substitution
UC Davis: substitution

YouTube:

6 7.2 Integration by parts Thursday, Feb 9
Friday, Feb 10
Wednesday, Feb 15
Week 6 Goals

Suggested problems:
7.2: #7, 9, 11, 15, 17, 19, 25, 27, 31, 35, 37

YouTube:
7 7.3-7.5 Integration of products of powers of trig functions;
trigonometric substitution; the method of partial fractions
Tuesday, Feb 14
Thursday, Feb 16
Friday, Feb 17
Monday, Feb 27
Tuesday, Feb 28
Wednesday, March 1
Week 7 Goals

Suggested problems:
7.3: #13, 15, 21, 25, 35, 37, 41, 53, 59, 61
7.4: # 7, 9, 17, 25, 27, 35, 37, 47, 59, 63, 65
7.5: # 1, 3 a, 3 b, 15, 19, 21, 27, 29, 63, 65, 67, 71, 77, 79

Worksheet for choosing methods of integration

YouTube:

8 7.7-7.9 Numerical integration (Midpoint Rule, Trapezoid Rule, and Simpson's Rule);
improper integrals; introduction to differential equations
Thursday, March 2
Friday, March 3
Monday, March 6
Tuesday, March 7
Wednesday, March 8
Thursday, March 9
Friday, March 10
Week 8 Goals

Suggested problems:
7.7: #7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 39, 41, 49, 51, 59
7.8: #9, 11, 15, 17, 27, 43, 45, 71, 73
7.9: #17, 19, 25, 27, 29, 31, 33, 39, 63, 65, 67

YouTube:
9 2.1-2.2
2.5-2.6
Continuous random variables; expected value; variance; standard deviation Monday, March 13
Tuesday, March 14
Wednesday, March 15
Thursday, March 16
Friday, March 17
Week 9 Goals

Suggested problems:
Appendix: #9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18

Solutions from Probability Appendix

YouTube:
Calculating a Cumulative Distribution Function
Finding a CDF from a PDF

10 8.1-8.4 Infinite sequences; infinite series;
divergence and integral tests
Monday, March 20
Tuesday, March 21
Wednesday, March 22
Thursday, March 23
Friday, March 24
Monday, March 27
Week 10 Goals

Suggested problems:
8.1: #3, 7, 9, 15, 19, 21, 23, 29, 31, 35, 57, 69, 71, 73, 75, 77
8.2: #3, 5, 9, 11, 17, 29, 45, 47, 49, 75, 79, 81
8.3: #7, 9, 11, 13, 17, 19, 21, 23, 25, 29, 31, 33, 35, 37, 39, 49, 61, 63, 69
8.4: #3, 5, 9, 13, 21, 23, 25, 29, 31, 45, 47, 49, 53, 55, 57

Visualising geometric series with stacking heads (Geogebra)
Converting repeating decimals to fractions using geometric series Khan Academy
11 8.5
9.1-9.2
Ratio test; comparison tests;
approximating functions with polynomials (Taylor); properties of power series
Tuesday, March 28
Wednesday, March 29
Thursday, March 30
Friday, March 31
Monday, April 3
Tuesday, April 4
Week 11 Goals

Suggested problems:
8.5: #9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 27, 29, 31, 33, 35, 37
9.1: #15, 17, 33, 39, 41, 45, 49, 51, 53, 61, 63, 65, 67, 69
9.2: #17, 19, 21, 23, 25, 27, 29, 31, 33, 41, 45, 47, 49, 63, 65, 67

Worksheet: series convergence tests

YouTube:

12 9.3-9.4 Taylor series; using Taylor series Wednesday, April 5
Thursday, April 6
Week 12 Goals

Suggested problems:
9.3: #9, 11, 15, 23, 25, 29, 33, 35
9.4: #25, 27, 29, 31, 55, 61

Resources

Lots of people find calculus challenging, and lots of people find their first few years in university challenging. If you find yourself struggling, I hope you'll take advantage of some of the resources available to you on campus.

Help with Registration

If you have problems registering in a math course, please find the appropriate math advisor.

If you have questions related to your major, like which flavour of calculus you should be taking, OR if you have a major life event that might prevent you from completing the semester, you should talk to your faculty advisor.

Help with Course Content

It's good for your brain to work hard! But if you find yourself feeling overwhelmed, please do take advantage of some of these marvellous resources available to you.

Help with Other Issues

Student Services at UBC has a variety of programs to help you stay happy and healthy. A good place to start is here: LiveWell

UBC provides services to address, among other things: illness and injury, mental health and wellbeing, sexual assault (for people of all genders), other violence, discrimination and harrassment, diversity, disability, and ongoing medical considerations. If you have legal issues, you might be able to get help from the Law Students' Legal Advice Program. The Office of Equity and Inclusion is a good place to go if you want more information about maintaining an environment that is respectful, especially with regards to interculturality, LGBT*QIA status, race, students who are parents, etc. The Office of Access and Diversity provides disability support.

If something comes up during the semester that interferes with your academic progress (such as an illness, or caring for a loved one) contact your faculty advising office as soon as possible. You can find them here.

The province has an excellent website with information on mental health, including an online screening tool and resources: Here To Help. The Vancouver Access & Assessment Centre (AAC) is a point of entry for concerns about mental health and substance abuse, and they also have a call line if you just want to talk to someone. Education is a tool for a better life, from increased earning potential to a heightened appreciation for the beauty and complexity in the world. Your real life extends far beyond the boundaries of this campus. It's important that you don't let your education interfere with your physical or emotional health.

Addressing Issues with the Course

If there's something about this course that bothers you, I'd like the chance to address it. You can contact me in person after class or during office hours, or write me an email. If you are uncomfortable discussing it with me, you can talk to the Instructor in Charge, Professor Keqin Liu: kliu@math.ubc.ca.

If it isn't feasible to change the thing that's bothering you, we still might be able to come up with strategies for addressing it. At the very least, you can get an explanation of why things are the way they are.

See you in class!

</