Question: What happens to my account when I leave?
Author: Joseph Tam
Date: Nov. 3, 2010
When are you considered gone?
Your computer account is a privilege of your membership with this
department, so when you have officially ended your stay here, your account
will be deactivated. The reasons for departure is typically graduation,
reaching the end of a research or teaching appointment, resignation of
employment, retirement, or some other reason. Faculty retain the use
of their accounts if they become an emeritus.
The IT staff usually get notice of a departure by an administrative
staff member who oversees a particular personnel group; sometimes the
departure date is stated on the computer account application. Once the
IT staff gets notice of an impending departure, the IT staff will in
turn issue an Email notice to the account owner that their account is
slated for removal.
It is important that the IT staff be made aware of any changes
or errors regarding anyone's departure date. If you receive an
erroneous notice that your account is being deactivated, cantact the IT
What happens when your account is taken offline?
The following computer privileges will be revoked upon your departure:
- Authentication: any authenticated services (i.e.
you supply a username and password) such as interactive logins,
remote mail services, authenticated web services (e.g. WebMail,
MathNet User Services, Internal Website, etc.) will not be
- File storage: personal data will be archived.
This includes private data such as your Email messages, personal
web pages, SVN data, etc. (See below on how to retrieve archives
after your departure.)
- DHCP/DNS registration: any laptops or computers
registered to you will be de-registered and will not have plugged
in network access.
- Personnel listing: a notice to the office
staff will direct them to remove your entry from the
What transitional services can I take advantage of after I leave?
We offer the following transitional services for ex-department members.
File archive retrieval can be arranged after your account has been taken
offline. If access to personal data is required immediately after the
account is taken offline, the owner should take the precaution to their
data to accessible storage. Email/web forwarding should be arranged
beforehand to ensure continuity of service.
File archival: data stored on our storage device
(which includes your Unix home directory, the "Common" folder
on our public Windows workstation, your web folder, your
personal Email messages, etc.) are archived.
When you have settled at your new location, you can Email
the IT staff and they can send instructions on how you can
retrieve your archived data. You may also elect to migrate
some of your data to a new location before your account is
- Email forwarding: messages sent to your former Email
address can be forwarded to another Email address. If you've
set up your own Email forwarding, it will cease to work after
your account is archived; you must arrange forwarding with the
IT staff before your account is deactivated or Email will be lost.
Forwarding will stay active for one year to give you
enough time to update your correspondees and mailing list
subscriptions to your new address.
- Web forwarding: access to your personal web URL
can be redirected to a new URL.